DISNEY+ and ABC Studios’ ‘BIG SHOT’ Fills Roster

Listen to this article

Shiri Appleby has been cast as Holly, the good-humored and down-to-earth assistant basketball coach, and Yvette Nicole Brown has been cast as Sherilyn, the no nonsense dean of Westbrook School for Girls, in the Disney+ original series “Big Shot” written and executive produced by David E. Kelley and Dean Lorey and produced by ABC Studios, a label of Disney Television Studios.

Shiri Appleby most recently starred in Lifetime’s critically acclaimed dramedy Unreal, earning a Critics’ Choice Award nomination for her lead role as Rachel Goldberg.  In addition to her work in front of the camera, she has also directed numerous TV episodes including Light as a Feather, Roswell, New Mexico, Unreal and PLL: Perfectionists.

Yvette Nicole Brown will soon to be seen as Aunt Sarah in the Disney+ live-action reimagining of Lady and the Tramp, premiering on the service November 12th.  She is perhaps best known for her starring role as Shirley Bennett on Community, and has also appeared on The Mayor and The Odd Couple reboot. She recently completed work on the independent film Love and Oatmeal starring Ben Platt and Lola Kirke.

Rounding out the Big Shot series regulars are Richard Robicheaux (Boyhood, Oceans 8) as George, Sophia Mitri Schloss as Emma, Nell Verlaque as Louise, Tiana Le as Destiny, Monique Green as Olive, Tisha Custodio as Carolyn “Mouse” Smith, and Cricket Wampler as Samantha “Giggles.”

John Stamos, previously cast as Marvyn, leads this ensemble cast.

Launching on November 12, 2019, Disney+ will be the dedicated streaming home for movies and shows from Disney, Pixar, Marvel, Star Wars, National Geographic, and more, together, for the first time. From The Walt Disney Company’s Direct-to-Consumer and International segment, Disney+ will offer ad-free programming with a variety of original feature-length films, documentaries, live-action and animated series and short-form content.

Alongside unprecedented access to Disney’s incredible library of film and television entertainment, the service will also be the exclusive streaming home for films released by The Walt Disney Studios in 2019 and beyond, including Captain Marvel, Avengers: Endgame, Aladdin, Toy Story 4, The Lion King, Maleficent: Mistress of Evil, Frozen 2, and Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker. The service will launch in select geographic territories, including U.S., Canada, and The Netherlands, followed shortly by Australia and New Zealand, with the expectation to be available in most major markets within the first two-years.

%d bloggers like this: