wu-tang clan

Throwback Thursday: The Wu-Tang Clan (1993-2001)

Written by on    

This week saw the reunion of the Wu-Tang Clan at this year’s Summer Jam festival (run by Hot97, who also premiered the new track they performed). To mark their 20th anniversary, all the original members and Ol’ Dirty Bastard’s son all appeared to perform at the annual event and therefore are this week’s choice for Throwback Thursday.

We are going to re-visit 5 songs from their discography between 1993 and 2001.

To start off the play list we have track 7 from their debut album “Enter The Wu-Tang (36 Chambers)”. “”Wu-Tang Clan Ain’t Nuthing ta Fuck Wit” was co-produced by RZA and Method Man, who both appear on the track alongside Inspectah Deck.

Track 2 on the play list is “Rules” from the Wu’s 2001 album “The Iron Flag”. The trend on this week’s throwback is the RZA being a constant in the producer credits. A fairly crowded track with most of the members all dropping vocals for “Rules”.

We go a year back from “The Iron Flag” in track 3 with the track “Let My Niggas Live” from “The W” album. Nas makes the only feature appearance on the play list by assisting the Wu-Tang Clan with a verse. Raekwon and Inspectah Deck represent the Wu on this track.

Bring Da Ruckus” then follows. The first track on their debut album, “Bring Da Ruckus” features RZA, Raekwon, Ghostface Killah, GZA and Inspectah Deck who provides one of the more memorable opening lines “I rip it hardcore like prono-flick bitches”.

The final track is “The M.G.M.”. This song is from disc 2 of their second album “Wu-Tang Forever”. Produced by Wu-Tang affiliate True Master, “The M.G.M.” one of the less busier tracks with only Ghostface Killah and Raekwon both sharing the mic.

Apparently, we are due a new album from the Wu-Tang Clan in July titled “A Better Tomorrow”. Their previous work is still available on Amazon. (US | UK)

About The Author
James Kennedy Senior Editor
Leave A Comment