Destiny: The Dark Below Expansion Drops On December 9th

The first major expansion DLC for Destiny is almost here

Written by on    

Earlier today, Activision and Bungie confirmed that The Dark Below expansion add-on for Destiny will be available for download starting on December 9th. A brand new piece of key art from the expansion pack is embedded below for you all to check out.


The Dark Below is the first major expansion pack for Destiny and includes the following:

  • New weapons, armor, and gear to earn, including Legendary and Exotic items
  • Light Level cap raised to 32 and five additional Bounty slots added
  • New story quests and missions – after years hiding amongst the Hive shadows, a new character, Eris, has come forth bearing an ominous warning: The Hive seek to summon a god, Crota, to destroy the Earth. Find Eris in the Tower to take on special quests that include three new missions where you will increase your Light and earn new rewards
  • New cooperative Strike, The Will of Crota, pits you and your Fireteam against Omnigul as she works to expand the Hive army at the command of her master, Crota
  • Three new competitive multiplayer arenas
    • Pantheon – set deep within the Black Garden in an ancient Vex temple that features Vex-designed landscapes and tight corridors
    • Skyshock – an old interplanetary defense array that offers both vehicle and infantry engagements
    • The Cauldron – an abandoned Hive ritual site that offers close-quarter combat
  • New six-player Raid, Crota’s End, set deep within the depths of the Hellmouth
  • PlayStation platforms will also get access to an exclusive cooperative Strike,The Undying Mind, and more (timed exclusive until at least Fall 2015)

The Dark Below can be purchased individually for $19.99 or as part of the Expansion Pass for $34.99.

Destiny is currently out on the PlayStation 4, Xbox One, PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360.

About The Author
Richard Bailey Jr. Editor-In-Chief
Leave A Comment