Sam Mendes’ The Franchise Series Will Be A “Joyous Hellscape of Franchise Superhero Moviemaking”

Listen to this article

We are one step closer to the Sam Mendes-directed comedy pilot The Franchise with the announcement of the main cast.

The pilot, which will mark Mendes’ first time directing for U.S. television, is hilariously set against the backdrop of the production of a superhero movie. Billy Magnussen (Game Night, Made for Love), Jessica Hynes (Spaced), Darren Goldstein (Ozark), Lolly Adefope (Shrill) and Isaac Powell (American Horror Story) star, and Daniel Brühl (Inglourious Basterds) and Richard E. Grant (Can You Ever Forgive Me?) will have recurring roles.

The Franchise will follow “a hopeful crew trapped inside the dysfunctional, nonsensical, joyous hellscape of franchise superhero moviemaking. If and when they finally make the day, the question they must face — is this Hollywood’s new dawn or cinema’s last stand? Is this a dream factory or a chemical plant?”

Mendes originated the idea for the show and will direct. Jon Brown (HBO’s Veep and Avenue 5) wrote the pilot and will serve as showrunner. Mendes, via his Neal Street Productions, and Brown will executive produce with Veep creator Armando Iannucci; Neal Street’s Pippa Harris, Nicolas Brown and Julie Pastor; and Keith Akushie, Marina Hyde and Jim Kleverweis.

Magnussen is repped by UTA, Anonymous Content and Sloane Offer; Hynes by Independent Talent Group and Seven Summits Pictures & Management; Goldstein by Cornerstone Talent Agency and Suskin/Karshan Management; Adefope by Dawn Sedgwick Management; Powell by CAA, Impression Entertainment and Schreck Rose; Brühl by UTA, Tavistock Wood, and Players; and Grant by Curtis Brown in the U.K. and WME in the U.S.

Related posts

Nicole Kidman and Maya Erskine to Star in ‘The Perfect Nanny’ Limited Series at HBO

Dana Abercrombie

Warner Bros. Discovery Takes Home Eight Golden Globe® Awards

Dana Abercrombie

Disney+’s Spiderwick Chronicles Adds Jack Dylan Grazer

Dana Abercrombie
%d bloggers like this: